Your boat wake and damage

A conversation among Whalers
porthole

Your boat wake and damage

Postby porthole » Sun Aug 07, 2016 11:09 am

This is an article from a weekly local area paper, something one might not even hear about except for the papers excellent local coverage.

The boat in question is a 35' JC, downeast style. Nearly flat bottom with a deep keel.
The "criminal charge" is interesting.
I have been passing this dock for over 20 years and find it surprising it was damaged by a single boat's alleged wake.
Our spring and fall high tides have enough additional water that my prior dock required twice a year reattachment of the gangway to the bulk head.

Boro receives settlement in Marina damage incident

By Boater violated low wake restriction, damaged fuel dock

BELMAR — The borough received a settlement of nearly $7,000 after a boater violated the marina’s wake restriction and damaged the fuel dock.

Approximately three months ago, a boat owned by Fish Stix Sportfishing, LLC. sailed too quickly through the Belmar Marina, violating the borough’s low wake requirement, according to Borough Administrator Colleen Connolly, who could not provide the name of the boater.

The wake damaged the marina’s fuel dock, causing the gangway to sit crookedly, she explained.

After identifying the boater on security cameras, the borough brought criminal charges against them.

The company settled, Ms. Connolly said, paying the borough $6,800 in damages.

The dock was immediately repaired following the incident and the settlement will reimburse the borough, Ms. Connolly said.

Captain Kris Black, owner of Fish Stix Sportfishing — a charter boat company based in Belmar — disputed that his boat caused enough wake to damage the dock, but agreed to pay the settlement through his insurance company.

“They kind of just blamed it on us,” he said. “It was a high tide, it was an incoming tide ... we were making a little bit of a wake, probably nothing that would cause damage.”
Thanks,