130 SUPER SPORT As First Boat

A conversation among Whalers
MattS

130 SUPER SPORT As First Boat

Postby MattS » Sun Mar 11, 2018 12:02 pm

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum, and to Boston Whalers.

I am looking for a boat that will split its time between a small lake, and larger lakes and rivers in the Montreal area. There will will also be vacations to Cape Cod a couple of times per year. Most of the time, there will be with one or two adults, but would like to be able to carry five adults from time to time. I am new to motor boats, but have done a lot of sailing and kayaking.

I am looking for a relatively new, under 10-year-old boat. So far leaning to 130 SUPER SPORT due to many more for sale, and price seems a bit better as this will be my first boat. I don't mind traveling to find the right deal on either model. I have read about ride quality and comfort of each boat.

All that said, I have a couple of questions about the 130 SUPER SPORT.

With a 40-HP engine, will a 130 SUPER SPORT plane with five adults on board?

Can I use 130 SUPER SPORT for tubing with four adults and teenagers aboard? Performance doesn't need to be high, just good enough to get the teenager to spend a few hours with the old people.

All comments are much appreciated!

jimh

Re: 130 SUPER SPORT As First Boat

Postby jimh » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:41 am

Small boats are very sensitive to total crew weight due to their empty hull weight being rather low. Adding five adults could add 1,000-lbs to the total boat weight, which represents an enormous increase in total boat weight, perhaps a doubling of total boat weight. Correspondingly, boat speed and ability to get on plane will be very different with five adults aboard compared to one or two.

A 13-foot boat is a nice boat for two people. If you really need a boat that can accommodate five, you should look for something larger.

A 13-foot Boston Whaler boat is a great boat to allow a young boater to operate by themselves.

andrey320