Montauk 17 Fuel Tank Locations

A conversation among Whalers
jstahlman

Montauk 17 Fuel Tank Locations

Postby jstahlman » Thu May 10, 2018 12:09 pm

I'm new to the Whaler ownership club and I'm fixing up an older 1987 Montauk 17. I'm going to put on an Evinrude 115-HP engine, and I want a 6-HP kicker engine or trolling motor, as well.

The boat I purchased has an area that was added in front of the transom. It is glassed in the width of the boat and about 2-feet into the length of the boat. There is a fuel tank mounded under it and the batteries would I guess go in the same location. Frankly I don't like it and would like to remove the glassed-in part. It will not be easy to remove cleanly so I need to look at it more.

I also have a fiberglass center console that has a fuel tank mounted in the front under a seat. It also has a place for one battery under the helm.

I think I have three options [for fuel tank location]:
--use the one in back,
--use the one under the helm, or
--put those red portable tanks under the helm seat I plan to build.

My thought is that having weight [of the fuel tank] as far forward as possible is good, so [the choice is to] use the one under the console.

Does anyone have a different thought?

Tom Hemphill

Re: 17 foot Montauk Fuel tank locations

Postby Tom Hemphill » Thu May 10, 2018 12:35 pm

I favor the location your boat originally used, under the helm seat. My second choice would be in front of the console, if that installation is well executed. I am leery about having the fuel tank in any sort of enclosed space where explosive fumes could accumulate, especially if a battery is located nearby.

jstahlman

Re: 17 foot Montauk Fuel tank locations

Postby jstahlman » Thu May 10, 2018 12:56 pm

I actually wondered about venting. The one that is enclosed at the back of the boat is vented to the stern but there is no blower to clear fumes. Funny thing is this modification was made I believe by the Fish and Game Department.