Commercial Hull History

A conversation among Whalers
Reluctant

Commercial Hull History

Postby Reluctant » Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:12 pm

Aloha. I’ve been rooting around for a solid hull, and I have found one that the owner claims is an old government hull. I’m no expert, but it looks like a smirk-less Montauk. The ad doesn’t have good pictures so I cannot see the black/red dot and the HID isn’t listed. Waiting for the owner to get back to me with that info.

—When did Boston Whaler begin producing the heavier layup boats like the Guardians?

—When did Boston Whaler start putting the signifying dots?

—If Boston Whaler made a smirk-less government hull, do any readers have any experience with them?

NEW TOPIC: I also have my eye on a 17 Montauk. It is a 1978 owned by an older fella that hasn’t run her in over 10 years. The boat lives in his carport covered in boxes. I’ve read a couple threads on the two and deduced that the pre-smirks are a bit more stable and plane more easily, while the smirk rides a bit better. I’m a spearfisherman and wear my mask around my neck or on my face whilst driving so wetness isn’t an concern.

If there’s a heavier smirkless out there, would those couple hundred extra pounds be enough to tip the scale toward riding better than the recreational 17s?

--How would a 16/17 Montauk match up in rougher inshore water with wind of 15 to 20-knots less than three-miles offshore, Oahu, Hawaii, compared to a 15 Hobie Power Skiff?

I’ve been doing a fair share of research on boats, but I’m on the quest to learn more.

jimh

Re: Commercial Hull History

Postby jimh » Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:51 pm