1973 OUTRAGE 21 Stress Cracks on a Remodeled Hull

A conversation among Whalers
madmax781

1973 OUTRAGE 21 Stress Cracks on a Remodeled Hull

Postby madmax781 » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:06 am

Hi Everyone,--I am new to this web site. I may buy a 1973 Boston Whaler 21 Outrage. The boat was remodeled in 2013 with a new transom, new fuel tank, a Yamaha 150-HP engine, and new cushion seating. I went over the whole boat. My only concerns are stress cracks in the stern.

stress4a.jpg
Fig. 1. Gel coat cracks on transom of 21 OUTRAGE c.1973
stress4a.jpg (22.01 KiB) Viewed 2319 times

I suspect [the cracks seen above] are from applying gel coat too thickly. Do you think differently?

I know Boston Whaler boats are notorious for this.

Is this just cosmetic?

Phil T

Re: Stress Cracks on a remodeled 73 Whaler

Postby Phil T » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:14 am

Long gel coat cracks like those in the photo can be from a thick coating. You could grind each out a bit and reapply gelcoat or just leave as is.
1992 Outrage 17
2019 E-TEC 90
2018 LoadRite 18280096VT
Member since 2003

jimh

Re: Stress Cracks on a remodeled 1973 OUTRAGE 21

Postby jimh » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:08 pm

I don't know that having stress cracks occur in the gel coat layer over long flat surfaces is evidence of the thickness of the gel coat being too great or that this happens on Boston Whaler boats in such frequency that the brand is notorious for it.

I suspect that if you found another 1973 boat that had been operated in the same manner for 45-years as the boat you are looking at, then that boat might have some stress cracks in the gel coat, too.

I would interpret those cracks as probably occurring as the result of some impact of the stern quarter of the hull with significant force with some larger and immovable object, such as a dock when the boat was in the water or a wall when the boat was on a trailer.