Outboard Engines 20 to 25-HP; Steering Methods; Mounting Remote Controls; Other Advice.2

A conversation among Whalers
svsonora

Outboard Engines 20 to 25-HP; Steering Methods; Mounting Remote Controls; Other Advice.2

Postby svsonora » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:40 pm

Hi everyone. I plan to buy a a little 13 with a solid hull and do a restoration job to use as a runabout in my local river. Other times, I sail boats out in the Chesapeake bay.

I am new to outboard motors of this size. I plan to power with a 20 to 25-HP.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of pulley and cable steering compared to Teleflex?

How do the throttle and transmission controls mount?

Is there other information I should know?

I would appreciate any general advice. Thank you!

Everything [else] looks straightforward:

--fiberglass work where needed;
--drill hockey pucks for mounting points;
--some sort of electrical system for lighting;
--basic woodworking for control console and seats;
--place to put fuel tank;
--place to put a storage locker;
--Bimini frame.

I think I can get all the work done pretty cheaply. I might enhance the woodwork a bit with gauge mounts, seat backs, storage chests, and so on.

jimh

Re: Outboard Engines 20 to 25-HP; Steering Methods; Mounting Remote Controls; Other Advice.

Postby jimh » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:06 pm

Your decision to buy an older 13-foot Boston Whaler for use as an open skiff on protected water is a good choice. Powering with 20 to 25-HP is also a good plan.

Your inquiry has too many questions for a cohesive discussion. If you need advice on a particular topic, you should post separate inquiries for each topic, probably in the REPAIRS and MODIFICATIONS section. It may be prudent to wait until some time in the future when you have bought the boat to begin inquires about specific repairs or modifications you discover will be needed.