Many Questions

A conversation among Whalers
Miquel

Many Questions

Postby Miquel » Mon May 04, 2020 8:24 pm

I am familiar with the specifications of both the SPORT 11 and SPORT 13. I do not understand the effect of hull size and engine power on how a boat performs. I read that the 11-foot hull won't plane, and that the 11-foot hull is meant to use as a tender or dingy.

Q1: is there a great difference in boat speed and fun factor between a SPORT 11 and a SPORT 13?

Q2: what is the difference between a tender and dingy?

Q3: do various models of a 13-footer use the same hull?

Q4: where can I learn how engine power affects performance of an outboard-engine-powered small skiff?

Q5: is it permissible to post a link to craigslist and ask for an evaluation of the amount of repair necessary?

Q6: [inferred question] is the condition of a boat able to be judged from pictures?

I am a total newbie. Any help will be much appreciated.

jimh

Re: Many Questions

Postby jimh » Tue May 05, 2020 7:31 am

Hello--I moved your thread to THE GAM, which is a forum that discusses general topics. I re-arranged your long post to make the questions being asked clearer. I deleted some of the lengthy comments you had that would not affect the answers to your questions. Here are some answers, which, due to the many questions, are brief but accurate replies:

Miquel wrote:Q1: is the difference in boat speed and fun factor between a SPORT 11 and a SPORT 13 great?

A1: the 13-foot hull has outsold the 11-foot hull by a huge ratio, maybe 500:1. I recommend you use that as an indicator of which one has the better fun factor.

Miquel wrote:Q2: what is the difference between a tender and dingy?

A2: a tender is a boat used to service a larger yacht. The 142-foot BYSTANDER is a tender to the J-Class sailing yacht VESHELDA. There is no size limit to a boat being a tender to a larger boat. A dingy is a very small boat, usually powered by oars, a small sail, or a very small outboard engine.