1988 13ft Boston Whaler w/ Yamaha F40

For Boston Whaler boats or related gear
ollie366

1988 13ft Boston Whaler w/ Yamaha F40

Postby ollie366 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:39 pm

1988 13 ft Boston Whaler - Fully Restored

This is for a totally restored a 1988 13 ft Whaler Sport and it looks like a new boat. I’m a retired engineer and this is what I do- restore 13 ft Whalers. This is my 5th restoration and it’s the best one I had to start with.
The boat was bought from the original owner, who kept the boat in a barn, unused for the past 13 years. When I got the boat, it had a junk motor on it and was dirty and slightly oxidized, but completely dry and, under the dirt, in fantastic condition. Virtually no cracks (all 13 ft Whalers have stress cracks), solid transom, and the original brass drain tubes - which look like new.
The boat was on a trailer specifically modified for the 13 ft Whaler. The structure and tires/wheels are solid but most of the ancillary parts were replaced.
The boat needed a motor and after a long search, I found a 2001 Yamaha F40 40 HP four stroke motor with 160 hours used on a pontoon boat on a lake. The boat was totaled by a falling tree so the motor was available. The motor looks like new inside and out. The carbs were completely disassembled and ultrasonically cleaned. The motor runs smoothly throughout the full RPM range with no smoke and very quiet operation.
The specifics, including the new parts included:

1988 Whaler 13 Sport
Fully buffed, polished, and waxed gelcoat, inside and out
Original Boston Whaler mahogany, completely stripped and coated with 5 or more coats of gloss marine polyurethane spar varnish. Ultra smooth finish on console and anchor hatch; less smooth on seats for safety
Stainless steel steering wheel on Teleflex Safe-T-Helm
New nav lights wiring with terminal block and cable cover
New nav light switch
Stainless bow light
Stern all-around light & base
New fuel/water separating filter (10 micron)