16-foot Hull Trailer Set-up

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Cwilson375

16-foot Hull Trailer Set-up

Postby Cwilson375 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:37 pm

I just picked up [a Boston Whalet 16-foot hull] that was flipped upside down on a trailer. I pulled the hull off the trailer. Now I am trying to figure out how to set the trailer up for the boat. I have never done this before, but I am fairly good at turning a wrench. At this point I am not sure what the best way to approach this is and would appreciate any guidance.

ConB

Re: 16-foot Hull Trailer Set-up

Postby ConB » Mon Jul 04, 2016 11:38 pm

You need a combination of hardware to get fore and aft bunks mounted to the frame of the trailer. Some trial and error with set up. If you added a couple keel rollers like on the front of the trailer to the two cross members that would be a plus but not mandatory with good bunks.

https://www.shorelandr.com/pages/t_specs.aspx?type=boat&productID=376

The link is to what a good bunk trailer looks like.

Con
!987 Outrage 18 / 2011 Yamaha F150
1969 13 / 30hp Johnson tiller

jimh

Postby jimh » Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:09 am

Read all the articles listed here:

http://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/trailering/

Read the owner's manual. If you do not have the owner's manual, you can read a copy of the owner's manual I have created in HTML. See

http://continuouswave.com/whaler/refere ... trailering

Cwilson375

Postby Cwilson375 » Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:13 am

I have read that information.

I have three keel rollers to install on the trailer and I have brackets to install bunks. I'm trying to figure out what the best method is to figure out where the rollers and bunks need to be.