1978 SPORT 15 Restoration

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
MDD622

1978 SPORT 15 Restoration

Postby MDD622 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:31 am

Hello all--I just recently started working on restoring--or planning out the process at this point--a 1978 Boston Whaler boat that I believe is a SPORT 15 with a 1983 Johnson outboard. The boat has been in my family its whole life, but unfortunately was neglected by a previous family member and left outside uncovered for the past 10 to 12 years. The boat has a lot of sentimental value, and I really want to get her back to her former glory and keep it as original as possible. [I am a] carpenter by trade. I do not have much mechanical experience or any experience working on boats, but would like to do as much of the work as possible myself.

The hull seems to be in good shape considering all the neglect. [I am] looking for a good plan of attack on the deck. I am thinking a good washing and scrubbing with a marine soap [will permit me] to be able to see spider cracking or any other damage; and sand them out; and repaint.

[I am] hoping [there are] no soft spots anywhere. There are some open screw holes where the seating was removed. [The boat] has only sat with those holes exposed for a couple years.

Should those be a big concern for rotting wood inside?

The hull seems to be in great shape. [It needs a] little repair around the bow hook. [There is]a 1/4-inch hole drilled in the stern [that] I assume was put there to let out any water. [I would] like to sand off the remaining bottom paint, then wet-sand the whole thing, give it a good buffing. and see how she looks.

As for everything else, I have an order placed for the engine's service manual and owner's manual. [I will] do some basic maintenance before running a compression test.