Trailer Bearing Grease

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Oldslowandugly

Trailer Bearing Grease

Postby Oldslowandugly » Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:00 am

I am about to rebuild my trailer bearings with the Bearing Buddy Spindle Seal Kit. I have used Bearing Buddies and Lubriplate brand trailer bearing grease for 28 years with no problems. Since the spindles and bearings are clean I can switch greases now if I choose. I was leaning towards the OMC high pressure wheel bearing grease simply because I am a huge fan of OMC Triple Guard grease and OMC 2-cycle oil. I also noticed that many greases are now synthetic. I have no experience with those. I want to use something that is easy to acquire as I know better than mixing brands. What do you use?

jimh

Re: Trailer Bearing Grease

Postby jimh » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:15 am

The topic of a "best" trailer bearing grease is probably a bit like a "best" beer. There are a lot of choices and opinions.

I don't recall exactly what grease I have been using, but I do recall that when I bought the grease, I bought two large tubes of it so that I wouldn't run out and start mixing greases. I'll see if I can find the particular brand by looking at the big box of spare trailer parts I carry with me in the truck.

One aspect of trailer bearing grease and Bearing Buddy hubs: don't keep adding grease all the time. The rear seals probably would be fine most of the time if the hub wasn't constantly being filled with new grease, pushing out the old grease past the rear seal.

By the way, I plan to re-do all the bearings and the brakes on my trailer next Spring. I have to tear down at least two wheels to replace the brakes, so while I have everything apart I will re-do the bearings.

Oldslowandugly

Postby Oldslowandugly » Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:40 pm