2013 130 SUPER SPORT: Water in foam in anchor locker

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Cait

2013 130 SUPER SPORT: Water in foam in anchor locker

Postby Cait » Sun May 10, 2020 12:11 pm

I’m new to this and green when it comes to boating.

I recently bought a 2013 Boston Whaler 130 Super Sport. While out in some rough waters waves were crashing over the bow. I noticed that the anchor locker filled with a lot of water.

After drying out the anchor locker, I saw that the the seal on a circular disk was broken. When I put pressure on that area, water bubbled out.

Q1: how can I insure a proper drying out of the foam from the water that entered the hull?

Q2: what is the best repair that will not ruin the remaining warranty?

Q3: why would Boston Whale put such a vulnerability in an anchor locker?

An anchor locker holds water that comes crashing over the bow. And the area but gets roughed up by the anchor.

Jefecinco

Re: 2013 130 SUPER SPORT: Water in foam in anchor locker

Postby Jefecinco » Mon May 11, 2020 9:31 am

After making any repairs you may want to line the anchor locker with a protective material such as Drideck.
Butch

biggiefl

Postby biggiefl » Mon May 11, 2020 9:59 am

Got a pic?
On my 24th Whaler. Currently in the stable: 86 18' Outrage, 81 13' Sport(original owner), 87 11' Sport, 69 Squall(for sale cheap).

jimh

Postby jimh » Mon May 11, 2020 10:26 am

In any sort of molding in which liquid material is poured into a mold cavity, there will be sprue holes. The purpose of a sprue hole is to allow excess material to escape from the mold form.