1986 Outrage 18 full restoration

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Palomino

1986 Outrage 18 full restoration

Postby Palomino » Thu May 02, 2024 7:28 pm

I consider myself a complete novice, but I have decided to undertake a complete restoration of the boat. I restored a 1983 Montauk but they are straightforward.

So last night I was reading posts on replacing the fuel tank, something I have been thinking about for 10 years. The boat has its original 1986 Evinrude 150 on it. It runs just as well as a 150 Etec I had on a different 1986 Outrage 18. But the flywheel has some teeth chipped so when I am launching sometimes I have to take the cowling off and manually advance the flywheel past the chipped teeth so I can get it cranked over again. And then the whole being 45 out thing and constantly being worried about what could go wrong instead of being able to fully enjoy the fact that you are 45 out in an 18. So I was lying in bed thinking I need to replace the engine and the fuel tank and I might as well do all the wiring and customize the console because the controls will be out for the new engine and you know how it goes.

This morning I woke up and thought "I'm going to do this". So here's my plan:

Remove the console, fuel deck, and maybe the engine if I can figure out how to get it off with only me and someone else lifting it off. I took the ss prop off and I am going to call my dump to see if they will take the engine. I just have to figure out how to get it off my boat and onto a trailer. The trailer height I think may be about the same as the cowling, so it will be lifting it off the transom and up onto the trailer.
Re-wire everything, update lights & install gunwale lights with LED, refinish all teak, replace the fuel cell with a customized tank, add 2 bilge pumps, new gauge, and electronics.