Outrage17 II and Honda BF115: Repeated Oscillation of the Bow Up and Down

Optimizing the performance of Boston Whaler boats
Lean Wolf

Outrage17 II and Honda BF115: Repeated Oscillation of the Bow Up and Down

Postby Lean Wolf » Sun Nov 27, 2016 7:42 pm

I recently purchased a 1998 OUTRAGE 17 II with a Honda BF115. I've only put about two hours on the boat, and I have found the boat to porpoise significantly.

To anyone who has [a 1998 OUTRAGE 17 II with a Honda BF115] and [who has problems with the repeated oscillation of the bow up and down]: what have you done to reduce [the repeated oscillation of the bow up and down]?

[On my boat] the propeller is chewed up; I need to start there.

To anyone who has [a 1998 OUTRAGE 17 II with a Honda BF115] and [has problems with the repeated oscillation of the bow up and down]: What propeller are you using?

I have a lot of experience with high-performance propellers but no experience dealing with [the unidentified and chewed up propeller that is on this] 17-foot Boston Whaler.

[Describes the engine mounting height by describing the hole the mounting bolts has been placed in--please describe the engine mounting height in terms or units of 0.75-inch or "hole" that the engine has been raised above the lowest position. For more help in describing the engine mounting height see the article at http://continuouswave.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=739]

To anyone who has effectively dealt with [the tendency of a 1998 OUTRAGE 17 II with a Honda BF115 to have the bow oscillate up and down while the boat is on plane]:

What did you do to stop [the tendency of a 1998 OUTRAGE 17 II with a Honda BF115 to have the bow oscillate up and down while the boat is on plane]?

What is your propeller?

What is your engine mounting height?

Advice would be sincerely appreciated.

jimh

Re: Outrage17 II and Honda BF115: Repeated Oscillation of the Bow Up and Down

Postby jimh » Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:00 pm