270 OUTRAGE Twin Engines: Engine RPM at WOT

Optimizing the performance of Boston Whaler boats
D4655

270 OUTRAGE Twin Engines: Engine RPM at WOT

Postby D4655 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 6:26 pm

I am a newbie to this forum (so thank you for reviewing my post) and am in the process of purchasing an [2007] 270 Outrage, which has been maintained well and whose engine[s] passed compression tests, but [the boat] failed a survey. The surveyor could only get 4800-RPM at WOT with 19-pitch stock four-blade stainless-steel propellers.

The seller is arguing that [during the test the boat] wasn't trimmed properly. I haven't had experience with twin outboards only twin sterndrives. A 270 with twin 225-HP engine should be able to produce more than 4800-RPM with fully-[trimmed]-down engines--shouldn't it?

Any help or experience is greatly appreciated.

Phil T

Re: 270 OUTRAGE Twin Engines: Engine RPM at WOT

Postby Phil T » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:12 pm

There are a lot of variables:

What was the fuel load?
Were all the wells, lockers empty?
Holding tank full or empty?
All the plugs inserted?
Bilge dry?

What was the sea state? Winds, current?
If the motors are not trimmed out it will greatly affect performance.

Easiest way to do it:

When you get on plane, 3/4 throttle, you trim motors out until GPS speed stops increasing or you start to bounce. If you increase throttle, trim in a bit then back out watching GPS speed.

You will also see the boat wake change too, flatten out as the boat attitude changes.

Drive the boat again yourself.
270outrage2.jpg
270outrage2.jpg (71.84 KiB) Viewed 8295 times

A review in one boating mag says:

Despite the crowd, the 270 stepped out nicely, with the twin 200-hp Mercury OptiMax outboards pushing us through the two-footers on our way offshore. According to the manufacturer's figures, the 270 turns 40.6 mph cruising at 4000 rpm while burning 10.5 gph, and tops out at 54.7 mph at 5500 (wide-open throttle), burning 21.6 gph.