1992 27 OFFSHORE Twin E-TEC 250-HP Engines

Optimizing the performance of Boston Whaler boats
JanaSea27OS

1992 27 OFFSHORE Twin E-TEC 250-HP Engines

Postby JanaSea27OS » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:23 pm

Here is data about the power and performance of my 1992 27 OFFSHORE--I hope it will be of interest. I know I can learn from the experience and knowledge of others on this forum. I admit up front I am no expert. I have some experience with the hull and power.

My 1992 27 OFFSHORE is powered by twin 2008 E-TEC 250-HP engines. I use it exclusively in fishing the coastal areas off Newport, Oregon, which gets its share of rough ocean conditions. The twin E-TEC 250-HP engines provide enough low-end torque to get up on plane very quickly, even with a load.
The hull design basically eats up our afternoon wind chop, and gives a smooth dry ride.

I have owned [the 1992 27 OFFSHORE] for five years and put 1,800 hours on the 2008 E-TEC engines. With regular maintenance and a great technician, they purr.

On a nice ocean with two-foot wind waves, two-foot swell, eight-second period, the 1992 27 OFFSHORE cruises very comfortably at about 22 to 24-nautical-miles-per-hour. The fuel burn is 0.8-gallon per nautical mile to 1-gallon-per-nautical mile.

[Moderator's note: usually fuel economy is stated in distance per volume of fuel, and most commonly in statute miles per US gallon. Converting the unusual data in terms of gallons per nautical mile to more familiar units, gives a more easily understood value. In this case the commonly used value of fuel economy for the boat under discussion would then be 1.15 to 1.44-MPG.--jimh]

Slowing down in steeper seas results in 1.5 to 2 gallon burn at about 12 to 15-nautical-miles-per-hour.

[Moderator's note: the data above is stated ambiguously. We don't know if the 1.5 to 2.0 gallon consumption is per unit of distance or per unit of time. Please clarify--jimh]

Thanks for the opportunity to present this data.

Mr 88