AIS, Chartplotter, and Radar

Electrical and electronic topics for small boats
User avatar
jimp
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:18 am
Location: Juneau, Alaska

AIS, Chartplotter, and Radar

Postby jimp » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:34 pm

You guys have always been a wealth of information.

I have an older GPS Chartplotter Standard Horizon CP500 (2007?) and would like to connect to my 2016 KODEN/ SITEX T941 radar.

Is there any advantage to doing this? Specifically, can I get AIS information on the radar... or does the T941 need a separate AIS receiver?

Thanks.

Jim

User avatar
jimp
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:18 am
Location: Juneau, Alaska

Re: AIS, Chartplotter, and Radar

Postby jimp » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:56 am

After more reading and looking...

The instrument itself must have 12V power (the chartplotter and the radar) AND the BACKBONE needs a SEPARATE 12 volt power source. Is that correct?

So before, I had the chartplotter & radar "plugged: in, now I need a source for the backbone.

jimh
Posts: 5103
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:25 pm
Location: Michigan, Lower Peninsula
Contact:

Re: AIS, Chartplotter, and Radar

Postby jimh » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:24 pm

If “backbone” means an NMEA-2000 network, then, yes, the network needs to have 12-Volt power provided to it.

The power source can be (and probably should be) the same source that powers the larger devices connected to the network, which is usually the HOUSE battery.

User avatar
jimp
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:18 am
Location: Juneau, Alaska

Re: AIS, Chartplotter, and Radar

Postby jimp » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:36 pm

JimH -

Thanks!

Yes, "backbone" means "NMEA-2000 network. That's the way the GPS Store, Garmin, and Lowrance videos, etc. referred to it.

And I have unused breakers on my circuit board, connected to house batteries.

JimP
Attachments
5360323_20150822123521530_1_XLARGE.jpg
"The WILBUR" breaker board.
5360323_20150822123521530_1_XLARGE.jpg (86.73 KiB) Viewed 40 times