Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Information about Evinrude I-Command, ICON Pro, and ICON Touch Color Displays
ggeldart1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:21 pm

Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Postby ggeldart1 » Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:57 pm

Hello,

New member to the forum. Thank You.

Also first time owner of E-TECs.

My setup;
Boat : Zodiac Hurricane 7.33 Meter

Starboard
2020 E-TEC G1 150 (standard rotation)
Nautilus 3.5 inch Gauge (Version 2.71)
1.8 Gallon Oil tank with Evinrude oil level sensor and sender
Instance - 0
Referenced as Tank - 1

Port
2020 E-TEC G1 150 (counter rotation)
Nautilus 3.5 inch Gauge (Version 2.71)
1.8 Gallon Oil tank with Evinrude oil level sensor and sender
Instance - 1
Referenced as Tank - 2

Evinrude Network.png
Fig. 1. Evinrude NMEA-2000 Network
Evinrude Network.png (43.82 KiB) Viewed 2799 times


Q1
Neither of my Nautilus gauges will recognize the new OEM oil tank senders that I recently installed. I uploaded the latest version of firmware (2.71) last week, is there a reboot procedure I may have missed?

Q2
The auto Winterization feature doesn't initialize, any suggestions on why it isn't working ?

Please note:
- I have two separate NMEA 2000 networks, one for each motor. The reason is that the previous owner didn't change the instance settings to reflect a twin configuration. Both outboards are currently set at Instance - 0.
- My intent is to purchase the Diagnostic Software and make the proper Instance adjustments or have a local dealer do it.
- I'll attempt to attach a diagram of my network for reference.

Thank you

Higher resolution image in PDF format also available.
Attachments
Evinrude Network.pdf
(107.09 KiB) Downloaded 59 times

jimh
Posts: 10790
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:25 pm
Location: Michigan, Lower Peninsula
Contact:

Re: Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Postby jimh » Thu Oct 06, 2022 8:29 am

Note: I revised and edited this post several times as I was writing before having any coffee this morning, so be sure to refresh the post to get the final version as my thoughts became clearer.

Hello. Thanks for including the very nice diagram with excellent notations. I made it into a PNG file that can be shown as an in-line element to allow readers to see the diagram.

With the EV-Diagnostics Software Version 5 you can alter the INSTANCE settings of the two engines to properly reflect the twin engine configuration. However, with Version 5 you will only be able to connect to the EMM of the E-TEC.

The NAUTILUS gauge is a NMEA-2000 device. Evinrude developed EV-Diagnostic Version 6 to connect to the G2 engines via NMEA-2000. This also gave the Version 6 software a chance to connect to NMEA-2000 displays and devices, such as NAUTILUS gauge and the fluid tank level senders. Thus with EV-Diagnostic Version 6 you could check the INSTANCE settings of the sender, but you cannot do that with Version 5.

NO OIL TANK LEVELS SHOWN ON NAUTILUS
About the only ODD thing I see in the oil tank settings is that the PORT network has an engine at INSTANCE =0 and the oil tank is at INSTANCE =1. This may be confusing the gauge.

On the STARBOARD network, the engine also has INSTANCE =0 and the oil tank also has INSTANCE =0, so this network and NAUTILUS gauge should be working correctly. You mention it is set to show as TANK 2, so that might also be a conflict. Try configuring to show as TANK 1. (I am not quite clear on what you mean by these designators.)

I am not familiar with the RAYMARINE AXIOM display.

Q3: does the AXIOM display have a NMEA NETWORK device list function that will show you the type and instance and address of all attached devices?

If the AXIOM has the network device display function, it could verify that the oil tank level senders have been properly configured.

The reason for doing this would be to confirm that the oil tank senders you have purchased actually have been properly configured for INSTANCE and TYPE settings.

WINTERIZATION WITH NAUTILUS for G1 ENGINES
Because the NAUTILUS gauge was designed for use with the E-TEC G2 engines, the winterization function did not work with a legacy or G1 engine. I was hoping that with the update of the NAUTILUS gauge to firmware 2.71 the winterize function would be added for the G1 engine.

I have a G1 E-TEC myself, and I have a NAUTILUS gauge with firmware 2.71. A few weeks ago in September 2022 when I was using the boat for the last time, I was going to test to see if the NAUTILUS gauge with updated firmware would initiate winterization. I tried using the NAUTILUS gauge, but it was not working to initiate winterization. I was not certain that I had hit the proper buttons, as the user interface was a bit confusing.

There were several boats behind me at the ramp waiting to pull out, so I did not want to delay them while I experimented further. And the weather was cold and raining, so this also caused me to not want to delay winterizing the engine and hauling out the boat.

I resorted to using my ICON Pro RPM gauge to initiate the winterization procedure, and then hauled out the boat for the season. As a result, I cannot report that I have had success with winterizing a G1 with a NAUTILUS gauge, but, again, I was in a rush and I might have made a mistake in the procedure on the NAUTILUS. Or, the NAUTILUS still cannot winterize a G1 engine. I cannot say for certain which outcome is correct.

jimh
Posts: 10790
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:25 pm
Location: Michigan, Lower Peninsula
Contact:

Re: Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Postby jimh » Thu Oct 06, 2022 8:41 am

More information about INSTANCE and TYPE settings is given in a separate article at

INSTANCE Settings for FLUID TANKS in E-TEC G2 Rigging
https://continuouswave.com/forum/viewto ... 387#p24948

This is appropriate for the NAUTILUS gauge as it was designed for the G2 engine.

ggeldart1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:21 pm

Re: Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Postby ggeldart1 » Thu Oct 06, 2022 8:48 pm

Thanks for all the information provided in your reply.

I've read many of your other threads to help guide my installation and I successfully used your firmware update link to bring my Nautilus gauges up to 2.71.

NO OIL TANK LEVELS SHOWN ON NAUTILUS
I may have incorrectly identified the OIL Tanks as Tank =1 and Tank =2 in my initial post, however, I previously read that in addition to the Instances being preset, the tank senders were also preset to display as 1 or 2, when multiple tanks are shown on a NMEA MFD display.

I'm leaning to believe that my problems may be due to the twin engines not being set to the proper Instances PORT =0, STARBOARD=1. I spoke to my E-TEC service technician today, he'll make the proper adjustments when I bring my boat in at the end of the season.

I also, now realize that I incorrectly labelled my gauges in the diagram as INSTANCE =0 and INSTANCE =1, they in fact are only displaying data sent from each motor's EMM.

I'll follow-up with an update later.

WINTERIZATION WITH NAUTILUS for G1 ENGINES
It sounds like we're both in a similar situation. I plan on getting out on the water this weekend (long weekend up here in Canada), I will test the Auto Winterization feature while the engines are running. My E-TEC technician said that the Legacy engines need to be running in order for the feature to work.

I'll follow-up with an update.

Q3: AXIOM Network Display

Yes, my Axiom displays data from all devices. I temporarily connected both OIL TANK Fluid Level senders to my Axiom network, both senders displayed information on the Network. I'm unfamiliar with the data, I can't determine where the INSTANCE # is referenced.

I'll attached pictures, but here is the data from the display:

PORT OIL TANK Sender
1.0.0 Fluid Level 9558
Application Version : 1.3.0-MZ1657C-B1.0
CAN Address: 04
Database Version : 1111
Model Version : 1.0.0
Product Code : 1781
Product ID : Fluid Level
Product Name : 1.0.0

STARBOARD OIL TANK Sender
1.0.0 Fluid Level 566
Application Version : 1.3.0-MZ1657C-B1.0
CAN Address: 03
Database Version : 1111
Model Version : 1.0.0
Product Code : 1781
Product ID : Fluid Level
Product Name : 1.0.0

ggeldart1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:21 pm

Re: Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Postby ggeldart1 » Thu Oct 06, 2022 8:58 pm

Below are three screen captures from the Axiom display NETWORK function:

Axiom Network - STARBOARD.jpg
Fig. 2, Starboard oil tank sender.
Axiom Network - STARBOARD.jpg (46.87 KiB) Viewed 2761 times


Axiom Network - PORT.jpg
Fig. 3. Port oil tank sender
Axiom Network - PORT.jpg (47.22 KiB) Viewed 2761 times


Axiom Network.jpg
Fig. 4. Axion Network application listing of devices found on the NMEA-2000 network.
Axiom Network.jpg (58.54 KiB) Viewed 2761 times

jimh
Posts: 10790
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:25 pm
Location: Michigan, Lower Peninsula
Contact:

Re: Legacy E-TEC and Nautilus Gauge

Postby jimh » Sun Oct 09, 2022 8:23 am

Regarding the data shown in the screen captures from the RAYMARINE display network data application:

I am not familiar with the Raymarine terminology, but it does not show specifically a value for INSTANCE.

In NMEA-2000 networking, if there are two or more identical devices on the network, then they must be separated by their INSTANCE number. I don't know if the Raymarine lablel "CAN address" is the equivalent of INSTANCE.

Perhaps you can contact Raymarine support and ask them this question:

Does "CAN address" mean "INSTANCE"?

Or perhaps the "CAN address" values ( 3 and 4) are the network addresses. I notice that in the list shown in Figure 4 that the fluid tank level devices are listed in an order that would correspond to the address being 3 and 4 if the address numbers started at 000.

I think your best path forward to resolving this problem will be to have an Evinrude dealer connect to your network using the EV-Diagnostic version 6 software. With that diagnostic tool, the set-up of the fluid level tank senders can be checked and perhaps re-configured if incorrect. The goal, as far as I can tell, for a NAUTILUS gauge is to have the fluid level senders configured at TYPE=OIL and as INSTANCE 000 and 001 corresponding to PORT and STARBOARD engines.

Also, I think you can collapse your split networks into one NMEA-2000 network once you get the proper INSTANCE settings on the engines.

To be clear, I have not tried using a NAUTILUS with twin engines, but as far as I know it should work as long as the INSTANCE settings are correct.