2000 23 Conquest Purchase

A conversation among Whalers
JPTL

2000 23 Conquest Purchase

Postby JPTL » Wed Jun 09, 2021 12:47 pm

I may purchase a [2000--ALWAYS USE FOUR DIGITS FOR YEARS] 23 Conquest with twin Mercury OptiMax 150-HP engines, which are likely also c.2000 engines.

Tell me what problems areas I should look for in a c.2000 23 CONQUEST and its engines.

BACKSTORY: I have owned several boats in my lifetime, but I have only appreciated others' Boston Whaler boats, not having ever actually owned one myself. I'm new to this c.2000 23 CONQUEST model, and its hull.

Any advice that may be considered obvious in this forum, may not be obvious to me, so advise away.

Realizing that the expertise on this forum is in Boston Whaler boats and not Mercury outboard engines, any additional info on the Mercs would be appreciated.

EDIT: Thank you moderators, for quickly making my thread public and to Jimh for the excellent contribution to the "History of 23 Conquest" thread.
2000 Conquest 23

jimh

Re: Pre purchase 2000 23 Conquest Inspection

Postby jimh » Thu Jun 10, 2021 11:15 am

JP'--I think you allude to the 2003 thread at

History of 23 Conquest
https://continuouswave.com/ubb/Forum8/HTML/000810.html

and my comments therein.

Regarding the engines: the Mercury OptiMax was a two-stroke-power-cycle engine with direct injection using a rather elaborate and unusual system that was licensed from Orbital, otherwise known as the Orbital Combustion Systems (OCS). The OCS used two pumps, one to pressurize the fuel and a second to pressurize the air, then injected the fuel-air mixture into the cylinder combustion chamber. The result was a clean-emission engine that met EPA requirements for reduction of regulated exhaust gas emissions in effect at that time, while maintaining the excellent power output and broad engine power band of a two-stroke-power-cycle engine. However, there were and remain some drawbacks.