Starting 1976 Evinrude 40 After Storage

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Dive96

Starting 1976 Evinrude 40 After Storage

Postby Dive96 » Sat Jun 19, 2021 8:47 pm

At the end of 2020 I purchased a 1978 Sport 13 with an originial Evinrude 40-HP engine. The engine was running when I garaged it for the winter in a heated garage.

I did not do anything before storing it—I should have—and now I am trying to starts the engine and get it running for the 2021 summer.

Give me advice on what [procedures or service] I should perform on the engine in order to get it to start and rub.

I am a novice with outboards, but handy with automobiles.

I've charged the battery. The engine cranks over, but it won’t start.

I will replace the spark [plugs].

Q1: should fuel filter be changed?

Q2: could the carburetor[s] be clogged with old gas from sitting over the winter?

Q3: what annual maintenance should be done?

Q4: could the points be [the cause on the no start]?

Q5: should the year-old gasoline be discarded?

Q6: should I get a new [fuel] tank?

Q7: does the fuel filter need to be cleaned every year?

Q8: does the fuel filter need to be replaced every year?

Q9: how are carburetors cleaned?

Thanks

Don SSDD

Re: 1976 Evinrude 40 Need to get up and running

Postby Don SSDD » Mon Jun 21, 2021 7:15 am

I’d first check everything to do with the fuel tanks and lines, check for dirt in the tank and any filters that are visible. How old is the rubber fuel line and bulb? When you pump the bulb, does it get hard?

How fouled were the old plugs?

You should have used a fuel stabilizer for winter storage and fogged the engine, checked the quality of the gear oil in the lower unit and or replaced it.

How did it run last season?

At some point, you may want to check the thermostat and replace if needed and also check the carb float bowls for gunk or dirt.