Ceramic Coating Over Gel Coat

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
otter

Ceramic Coating Over Gel Coat

Postby otter » Mon Jun 06, 2022 2:27 pm

[Tell me your first-hand] experience of using a ceramic coating over gel coat resin.

The claimed benefits of a liquid ceramic coating are:
  • to make a superior covering for the hull,
  • to give lasting protection to the surface,
  • to last a couple of years, and
  • to make less work in the long run.

dtmackey

Re: Ceramic Coating Over Gel Coat

Postby dtmackey » Mon Jun 06, 2022 3:16 pm

"Ceramic coating" means different things to different people. I started playing with ceramic coatings in 2021. The spray-on ceramic product is not the robust multi-season coating that you rub on and level with a microfiber. Real ceramic coatings cannot be sprayed since they are thicker (higher viscosity) and would clog, not to mention the costs are significantly higher: $1-per-ounce for the spray stuff and over $100-per-ounce for the true coating.

One of our boats is a 2000 Nordic Tug 32 with a dark green hull--one of the worst colors to keep looking new--but we love it since you don't see this color on every other boat. The boat was purchased new at the factory and has been boatyard maintained locally where they would compound and wax every spring. About 6 years ago [2016], they told us they would no longer buff the hull since it was faded badly and the before and after wasn't much different. They offered their Awlgrip painting services, but I wasn't ready to have it done.