Keel Rollers v. Keel Bunks

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Jcomeau0

Keel Rollers v. Keel Bunks

Postby Jcomeau0 » Sun Oct 23, 2022 9:18 am

Q1: between using keel rollers or full length keel bunks, which would be better?

It seems to me, and I’m no expert, that three or four keel rollers aren’t fully supporting the keel as well as keel bunks would.

ASIDE
I just purchased a 1988 Revenge 22 W-T with Whaler Drive. I have a bunk trailer with no keel support of any type, neither bunks nor rollers.

I believe Boston Whaler suggests keel support on the trailer.

I see many people have trailers with keel rollers on the cross members and non-load bearing bunks off centered from the keel.

Phil T

Re: Revenge 22 Trailer Set Up

Postby Phil T » Sun Oct 23, 2022 12:10 pm

If you have doubled up bunks you are fine. This is a float-on style. There is a good primer article in the reference section.
https://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/trailering/trailer.html

Bunks with keel rollers is the other type. Helps launch boat in a little less water.

Show us photos of your trailer.
1992 Outrage 17
2019 E-TEC 90
2018 LoadRite 18280096VT
Member since 2003

Jcomeau0

Re: Revenge 22 Trailer Set Up

Postby Jcomeau0 » Sun Oct 23, 2022 7:45 pm

Phil T wrote:If you have doubled up bunks you are fine. This is a float-on style. There is a good primer article in the reference section.
https://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/trailering/trailer.html

Bunks with keel rollers is the other type. Helps launch boat in a little less water.

Show us photos of your trailer.

Thanks Phil, I dont have any photos of my actual trailer.

Below is the link to the same model and bunk set up that I have. I want to modify it to properly support the keel.

Q2: what would be my best option?

Thanks.

https://www.diamondmarine.net/New-Inven ... ut-5418714

jimh

Re: Keel Rollers v. Keel Bunks

Postby jimh » Mon Oct 24, 2022 9:56 am