1989 20' OUTRAGE is listing heavily

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
challmsu

1989 20' OUTRAGE is listing heavily

Postby challmsu » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:59 am

Hello All. I'm new to CW, but I read a lot of the threads. I appreciate any input on the below.

I purchased a 1989 OUTRAGE 20 that was rebuilt after hull damage. I purchased the boat as-is and do not have any further information about the previous damage. The boat is generally in beautiful condition and currently has a 2006 Yamaha F150 with low hours.

The concern is boat sits heavy in the back, and also that it lists heavily to the starboard side. The batteries are in the console and there are no other major add-on's on either side. The transom is low profile and typically sits only about 2-inches clear of the water line on the starboard side. I live on the Atlantic Intracoastal Water Way in Florida and have yet to take out the boat to the ocean, because even little waves on the AIWW can bring in water over the transom. The boat sits low enough that drain plugs are plugged 24/7, as they are 5-inches below the water line.

What is most likely causing the listing and back heavy status of my Whaler?

How can I correct it?

I have gotten a few opinions locally, but none had particular expertise in older Boston Whaler boats. The common feedback is that the foam has (potentially a lot of) water on it and I need to remove it and find the source. I wanted to reach out here before drilling holes in the transom.

Please help, thank you!!
Last edited by challmsu on Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jimh

Re: 1989 20' Outrage is listing heavily

Postby jimh » Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:43 pm