DIVEMASTER 17

A conversation among Whalers
gchilcott

DIVEMASTER 17

Postby gchilcott » Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:40 pm

This is a 1986 [DIVEMASTER] 17. I'm new to Whalers but had admired them since I was a kid. I bought this one last year, at which point it needed a lot of work. The E-TEC 90 was in good shape, but all the wiring, electronics, Evinrude wiring harness needed to be replaced. I refinished all the stainless, rebuilt the console, and had new steering, new throttle controls, and all new fuel plumbing installed. The project was a lot of fun, and the boat has performed extremely well since I finished it. Mostly I use it for diving in the Monterey, California area. The photo is from Lake Tahoe, which is another great place for boating.

The [DIVEMASTER] is great for diving. The railings and grab handles are from Boston Whaler; the ladder was added by me. The console is forward, leaving a larger area aft for preparing gear. The only downside I've noticed is the extra weight of the hull and railings, which reduces the amount of other gear that can be carried. Diving gear is so heavy that this can be a concern. But so far I am very pleased with how it all worked out.

photo copy 6.JPG
photo copy 6.JPG (181.5 KiB) Viewed 12492 times

LR_Tah_BW.jpg
LR_Tah_BW.jpg (69.5 KiB) Viewed 12492 times

Maverick

Re: Show Us Your Whaler

Postby Maverick » Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:58 pm

Wow nice looking [DIVEMASTER 17]. First one like that I've ever seen. The 17 hull is already great. I've had several regular 17-foot [Boston Whaler boats] and enjoyed them very much. I have the 18 Guardian pictured in the "Show Us Your Whaler] thread and fully appreciate your 17. admirable boat, you did nice restoration work on her. What kind of speed do you get out of her? Thanx, Mav in South Carolina

gchilcott

Postby gchilcott » Tue Dec 22, 2015 1:36 pm