Water Tight Deck Plate to Dry Out Foam

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
Angus

Water Tight Deck Plate to Dry Out Foam

Postby Angus » Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:33 pm

I am new to the Whaler Community as I have just purchased a 1983 13-footer. After having it now for a few weeks I am suspecting that it has wet foam. The hull is solid and has no [soft spots]. It is the topside that worries me. I do believe the floor has had a couple downrigger weights dropped on it.

I will be weighing the hull and doing a few other things to confirm my suspicions. If I do confirm it has wet foam my thought is to open up the floor with two six-inch holes, one fore and one aft, and install watertight deck plates. This would allow me to continue to use the boat as I wish and then unscrew the cover plate to help dry things out in the off days and over the winter when it will be stored upside down while I do some minor hull repairs. Once things have dried out sufficiently I would use the plug I cut out and fiberglass over the hole.

Any input on this approach would be appreciated.
Last edited by Angus on Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Spinnaker

Re: Water Tight Deck Plate to Dry Out Foam

Postby Spinnaker » Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:28 pm

Angus, congratulations. I love my classic 1981 13', which has a 1992 Mercury 40-HP four-cylinder engine. I think if you search the site, and take a look at the reference section in particular, you'll find suggestions on how to approach this particular problem, if it does indeed exist. See http://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/FAQ/#Q3. Anyone who tells you they own a classic Whaler that has absolutely no moisture in the hull--well, I'll just leave it there. But beware of waviness and soft spots.