TENDER 11 Four-stroke-power-cycle Engine

Optimizing the performance of Boston Whaler boats
BW11

TENDER 11 Four-stroke-power-cycle Engine

Postby BW11 » Sat Jul 29, 2023 8:43 am

Give me advice [on re-powering a c.1981 TENDER 11 with a modern four-stroke-power-cycle engine].

BACKSTORY

On my c.1981 TENDER 11 I need to replace a 25-year-old Johnson 15-HP engine. I may buy a 15-HP or 20-HP SUZUKI engine. I have no experience with modern four-stroke-power-cycle small outboard engines.

My TENDER is mostly used by my teenage children for angling in the [Atlantic Intracoastal Water Way]. [The usual crew and gear are]
  • two teenaged childrem
  • cooler
  • cast net
  • fishing poles
  • fuel tank
  • and other miscellaneous gear

ASIDE: The TENDER 11 was powered by an Evinrude 18-HP engine before the Johnson 15-HP was installed.

Phil T

Re: 4 stroke power for 11’ tender

Postby Phil T » Sat Jul 29, 2023 12:07 pm

Check the weigh of the 15 and 20 and then add the additional weight to what you have in the boat.

You may find you need to shop across brands to find the least heavy.

Shop dealers hard, prices vary a lot.
1992 Outrage 17
2019 E-TEC 90
2018 LoadRite 18280096VT
Member since 2003

BW11

Re: 4 stroke power for 11’ tender

Postby BW11 » Sat Jul 29, 2023 4:27 pm

The Johnson 15-HP engine weighs 76-lbs. The SUZUKI 15 and 20-HP engines weighs 97-lbs.

The extra [21]-lbs seems manageable, but I have concern that a four-stroke-power-cycle engine won’t perform the same as a two-stroke-power-cycle engine for getting the boat on a plane.

I am not concerned at all about fill-throttle boat speed. I am concerned about the need for the boat to easily get on plane and stay on plane.

frontier

Re: TENDER 11 Four-stroke-power-cycle Engine

Postby frontier » Sun Jul 30, 2023 1:37 pm

The classic Standard 11 Tender (tiller steering) weighs 210-lbs and is factory rated for 10 HP maxium.