1978 SPORT 15 Gel Coat Damage

Repair or modification of Boston Whaler boats, their engines, trailers, and gear
OGSW20

1978 SPORT 15 Gel Coat Damage

Postby OGSW20 » Wed Mar 23, 2022 1:59 am

My 1978 SPORT 15 boat has many problems. The gel coat and laminate layers are damaged in several places. Sections of the gel coat deck have spider cracks and crazing.

Q1: How much of the existing gel coat layer needs to be sanded off before I can start the fairing process?

Q2: Do I need to grind out any or all of these small hairline cracks before I start fairing?

Q3: Once faired and everything is smooth, am I ready to gelcoat?

Q4: Or, is there another step I should take before spraying on the gelcoat?

Q5: Is there a primer used before gel coat?

Q6: should I change the color to white from Desert Tan?

Q7: should I re-do the gel coat on the entire bottom?

Q8: should I consider using paint instead of gel coat?

I am very new to this and want to make sure I only have to do this once. Here are some photos of what I am working with.

keelRash_.jpg
Fig. 1. Damage on keel.
keelRash_.jpg (23.62 KiB) Viewed 1620 times

bigChip_.jpg
Fig. 2. Large area with chipped-off gel coat exposing laminate.
bigChip_.jpg (7.95 KiB) Viewed 1619 times

crazing_.jpg
Fig. 3. Typical spider cracking, crazing, and numerous drilled holes in deck.
crazing_.jpg (37.42 KiB) Viewed 1618 times

rubRailDamage_.jpg
Fig. 4. Impact damage below rub rail.
rubRailDamage_.jpg (9.26 KiB) Viewed 1617 times
Last edited by OGSW20 on Wed Mar 23, 2022 2:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
1978 Classic Sport 15 Red Dot
1986 Evinrude VRO 50

jimh

Re: 1978 SPORT 15 Gel Coat Damage

Postby jimh » Wed Mar 23, 2022 8:17 am

When large surfaces of the deck have crazing and spider cracking as seen in Figure 3, the repair of the cracks on an individual basis will be impossible.

The gel coat layer is thin. You cannot sand away the cracks and crazing without sanding away most of the gel coat layer.