2001 DAUNTLESS 16 Struggles to Accelerate Onto Plane

Optimizing the performance of Boston Whaler boats
jsmith0072

2001 DAUNTLESS 16 Struggles to Accelerate Onto Plane

Postby jsmith0072 » Tue Jan 09, 2024 3:21 pm

I recently bought a 2001 DAUNTLESS 16. Its original engine was a Mercury 90, and in 2019 the boat was re-powered an E-TEC 115-HP. The boat struggles to accelerate to planing speed.

I am new to boats like this.

Q1: what is the first step to be taken to improve the time needed to reach planing speed?

Q2: is an E-TEC 115-HP engine the wrong choice for a 2001 DAUNTLESS 16?

Q3: can the engine mounting height be adjusted by me?

Any help will be appreciated.

Phil T

Re: 2001 DAUNTLESS 16 Struggles to Accelerate Onto Plane

Postby Phil T » Tue Jan 09, 2024 7:10 pm

This model has a notch in the keel so getting up on plane is a challenge.

You need to mount the engine as high as it will go.

Install a 4 blade prop with stern lifting properties.

Two options include:

13x15 PowerTech SCD4
13.75x17 Mercury TrophyPlus

If the battery is in the stern, relocate to the console.

Seat a passenger in the bow.

Accelerate from a start hard until you are up on plane then reduce throttle to cruising speed. This takes practice to do smoothly.
1992 Outrage 17
2019 E-TEC 90
2018 LoadRite 18280096VT
Member since 2003

jimh

Postby jimh » Wed Jan 10, 2024 8:12 am

jsmith0072 wrote:Q1: what is the first step to be taken to improve the time needed to reach planing speed?
You need to provide much more information about the boat's performance than just the remark that there is a "struggle" to reach planing speed.

Read this lengthy article:
Propeller Testing: What Data to Collect; How to Evaluate that Data
https://continuouswave.com/forum/viewto ... f=7&t=7196

Then collect all the data required as presented in that article, and post all of the data in a follow-up.

jsmith0072 wrote:Q2: is an E-TEC 115-HP engine the wrong choice for a 2001 DAUNTLESS 16?